Resource revenue sharing

Resource revenue sharing (RRS) will enable First Nations to share in the economic benefits of forestry and mining operations near their communities. The RRS agreements will provide a source of funding for First Nations to allocate towards key priorities, including economic development, education, health, community and cultural initiatives.

Starting in the fall of 2019, partner First Nations will receive 45 per cent of government revenues from forestry stumpage, 40 per cent of the annual mining tax and royalties from active mines at the time the agreements were signed, and 45 per cent from future mines in the areas covered by the agreements.

31 First Nation communities, represented by the following three organizations, have a RRS agreement.

Represented by Grand Council Treaty #3:

  • Animakee Wa Zhing 37 First Nation
  • Anishinaabeg of Naongashiing
  • Couchiching First Nation
  • Eagle Lake First Nation
  • Lac Des Mille Lacs First Nation
  • Lac La Croix First Nation
  • Lac Seul First Nation
  • Mishkosiminiziibiing First Nation
  • Mitaanjigamiing First Nation
  • Naicatchewenin First Nation
  • Naotkamegwanning First Nation
  • Northwest Angle 33 First Nation
  • Obashkaandagaang First Nation
  • Ochiichagwe'Babigo'Ining Ojibway Nation
  • Ojibways of Onigaming First Nation
  • Rainy River First Nation
  • Seine River First Nation
  • Shoal Lake 40 First Nation
  • Wabauskang First Nation
  • Wabigoon Lake Ojibway Nation
  • Wauzhushk Onigum First Nation

Grand Council Treaty #3 Resource Revenue Sharing Agreement [pdf]

Represented by Mushkegowuk Council:

  • Chapleau Cree First Nation
  • Fort Albany First Nation
  • Missanabie Cree First Nation
  • Taykwa Tagamou Nation

Mushkegowuk Council Resource Revenue Sharing Agreement [pdf]

Represented by Wabun Tribal Council:

  • Brunswick House First Nation
  • Chapleau Ojibway First Nation
  • Flying Post First Nation
  • Matachewan First Nation
  • Mattagami First Nation
  • Wahgoshig First Nation

Wabun Tribal Council Resource Revenue Sharing Agreement [pdf]

For more information please contact:

  • MNRF:
    • Sean Tutak, Senior Negotiator, 705-755-1819
    • Mike Demers, Senior Policy Advisor – RRS, 416-314-1806
  • ENDM:
    • Grant Karwacki, Manager, 416-327-8286
    • Kevin McLean, Senior Policy Advisor, 416-212-8151